Skip links

MEAC’s USDE Recognition

MEAC’s USDE Recognition

The Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC) is an programmatic and institutional accreditor throughout the United States for direct-entry midwifery educational institutions and programs conferring degrees and certificates, including the accreditation of such programs offered via distance learning. MEAC provides through peer-review, assessment, and evaluation a means of quality assurance and improvement of direct-entry midwifery educational programs and institutions.

MEAC is recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) as both a programmatic and institutional accrediting body. MEAC must be reviewed by and demonstrate compliance with the Secretary of Education’s Criteria for Recognition every five years.  Only programs and institutions accredited by a federally recognized accreditor can provide their students with access to Title IV which includes Pell Grants and student loans.

MEAC’s Board of Directors and Accredited Members value the USDE process as an opportunity for improvement and meaningful change.

MEAC’s Recognition: The Process

MEAC’s recognition was last renewed in 2021 and was awarded the maximum recognition period of five years. MEAC will submit its new petition for renewal in February 2024.  After the submitted petition and supporting documentation is reviewed, the USDE will send its final staff recommendation to the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI) for its recommendation relating to MEAC’s renewal to the Department’s Senior Official. MEAC will have an opportunity to appear before NACIQI at a meeting scheduled in Winter 2026, to make a formal presentation and answer questions from NACIQI members.  The Department’s Senior Official will make a decision following the NACIQI meeting.

Additional information will be shared in the coming months.